The Cost of Convenience

I stopped at one of those all in one, buy gas and food places the other day.  I went in to pay for my gasoline and to get a bottle of Diet Pepsi.

I noticed that the 20 oz cold bottle was $1.79.  I had just passed a display of 2 liter bottles that were $0.99.  I asked the cashier, as she was only a few feet away (these places are never really big inside), if the pricing on the little bottle was right.

“Yes it is.”

“But the 2 liter over there is only ninety-nine cents.”

“Then buy a 2 liter.”

I don’t have a mini bar in my car.  I do, however, have one of those nice little round cup holders in my console in which the 20 oz bottle fits very nicely.  And the smaller bottle is already cold.

I bought the 20 oz.

Yesterday after work I picked up my youngest from school.  I still had a couple of errands to run before we could get home.  She wanted fast food.  I reminded her that we had leftovers at home, and since I’m still getting used to this new schedule, tonight was going to be leftover night.

She still wanted fast food.  I explained again that we had food at home and there was no sense whatsoever in spending money on the fast food when what was already cooked at home was relatively free.

She told me that she was hungry NOW, that she was also still getting used to my new schedule (which means she has to stay at school longer) and that there were no leftovers in the car right NOW.  Nor does my car host a microwave so she could have dinner NOW even if I’d had the foresight at six o’clock this morning to pack the leftovers for this eventuality.

The small coffee cup size of Dr. Pepper (mostly ice) to go with her drive-thru meal was an additional $1.59.

It fit nicely in the console so she could have her meal hands-free while I ran my errands.

My husband and I had leftover spaghetti.  Well, it was almost spaghetti.  I’d made a wonderful red sauce the night before, but we were out of spaghetti noodles.  Instead of running out to get another box, I used a box of macaroni noodles instead.

Because it was more convenient.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Cost of Convenience

Leave a Reply

