When 3D Falls Flat

Husband and I went out yesterday for lunch and a movie.  Lunch was at Red Lobster.  The movie was the recently released Desolation of Smaug, which is just one in The Hobbit series of movies based on the written works of J.R.R Tolkien.

If you’ve eaten at a Red Lobster anywhere and you’ve gone back a second time or more, then you, like me, know that it’s good food.  Nothing extraordinary happened there so I won’t belabor the event.  Well, just to say that, like always, we ate way too much.

It didn’t stop us from getting large bags of popcorn at the movie, though.  Gastrointestinal issues are sure to hound us for a couple of days.

That’s not what I wanted to talk about.

The movie was decent.  I enjoyed it.  Husband enjoyed it all the way up until he started dozing off, and resumed his enjoyment when the episodic dozing was over.  It was full of action, it revealed some of the plot, and we got to see a young Bilbo Baggins and his ring.  Well, I guess young is relative when discussing the life span of hobbits.

But I didn’t want to review the movie here either.

I wanted to talk about what I saw on the screen, behind the movie, or maybe it was just a little in front of it.

This movie was made for 3D viewers.  Husband and I prefer not to stupidly duck in our seats every few seconds and absolutely hate it whenever we smudge fake sunglasses with popcorn oil.  If given the choice, we always choose the ‘non-3D’ showing.  If given no choice, we stay home.

We could, and did, choose to see this episode of The Hobbit in 2D, except that this movie was already made for 3D viewing.  So every scene was wrought with things being thrown at the camera that fell short of hitting us in our seats.  Some of the background images in what would otherwise have been a beautiful landscape were blurred because we were not wearing our fake and grease smudged glasses in another theater.

All the action scenes were choreographed for a 3D audience, which left those of us in the non-3D seats a little disappointed with the sheer level of unnecessary theatrics.  Except for the potential experience in a 3D audience, there was absolutely no reason for some of the scenes.  The story that was told could have been told in an equally action-packed twenty minutes of two-dimensional viewing.

Which brings me to my conclusion that the folks who are making these movies are not making them for the adults who enjoyed reading a Tolkien-esq story and want to view the movies in a serene setting befitting the magnificence of the author.  They’re instead making them for children who don’t care about the story at all.

As for my opinion on 3D vs. 2D, I think I’ve come to the conclusion after writing this that one might as well do the 3D, because if that’s how the movie was made, your 2D viewing of it will be negatively affected, even if 2D is your preference.

Maybe I’m just old and can’t fully appreciate 3D.  I’m in that era of people who remembers the set of dedicated pliers on top of the television set that was used for absolutely nothing else in the house except to change the channel after the knob fell off.

We only had three channels anyway, so channel-surfing didn’t take very long.  Four if you count that one that wasn’t a number and required serious antennae attention.  VHS I think it was.

And the only time you had to duck was when a sibling got mad and threw the pliers.

6 Comments

Filed under Movies

6 responses to “When 3D Falls Flat

  1. I have no interest in seeing The Hobbit movies, because the books are too spectacular. I suppose one day they’ll be on television, and the children might watch them.
    I’m sorry you’ve had this experience.

Leave a Reply

