Un-Diluted Anger

The aftermath of this whole WV ‘water crisis’ has me all tied up in knots.  Not because we had to endure some inconvenience while the pretty people in suits were getting their faces on television, and not because it will be a long time before I trust the ingestion of anything coming out of my spigot.

I’m not even all that upset by all the false news that got reported during this whole thing, like the video of the guy who smeared grease on the water spigot and then caught it on fire, making it appear that the water was flammable.

This ain’t an episode of frickin’ Frackin’.

Rather, it’s the unjust enrichment that stands to be gained by all the robber barons out there that has me so upset.

Unjust enrichment times four.  Here’s how it will break down:

1)      The restaurant and other business owners who had to close are suing the knickers off Freedom Industries to recoup their losses in revenue for however many days they had to be closed;

2)      The restaurant and other business owners will also claim those same revenue losses on their next tax returns, which means they’ll pay less in local, state, and federal taxes;

3)      The restaurant and other business owners won’t have to pay the salaries of the people who weren’t there to work for their hourly wage while the place was closed and not bringing in any revenue;

4)      The restaurant and other business owners will more than likely inflate their pricing, citing previous losses, just like the gas companies did.

That’s four different times these people will get paid.  Not only will they end up not suffering any loss at all, they’ll make even more money at the expense of the rest of us!

Let’s forget for a moment that Mr. Owner most likely doesn’t live paycheck to paycheck like his employees do.  Most regular folks are just one paycheck away from being homeless anyway.  The hit Mr. Owner took to his wallet this week is likely to affect the interest on money he already has, but it will in no way cost him his home, his lifestyle, or even his frivolous spending habits.

The server at your table during your next night out, however, may be bathing at work just before her next shift.  Not because the water she has at home might still be polluted, but because her home service got shut off for non-payment.  She may be eyeing your dinner as she brings it to you because without a week’s pay, she wasn’t able to get groceries.

I’ve been seeing repetitive ads on television from a local law firm, geared toward Mr. Owner, offering to include him (with all those others who lost business) in their high-dollar class action suit.

Your server lost a week of her life, a week that she’ll be trying to catch up on for months to come, some of it in the form of late fees that will only add to her financial burden.

Yet I’ve seen no television ads for Mr. and Mrs. Joe who didn’t get to work that whole week because of the shut-down.  These people lost an entire quarter of their monthly income!  Where are all the lawyers lined up to help them recoup their losses?

But lawyers wouldn’t make much if they looked out for those who weren’t already rich, though, would they?

I told Husband during my episodic, and variedly pitched, ranting and raving this evening that the next time we go out, I’m asking the server if she got paid her regular wages for the week they were closed.  If she says no, I’m leaving.  That business will get no more of mine.

Husband suggests we give her a twenty dollar bill – and then explain to the manager why we won’t be back.

Just think what would happen if we all did that.  What if every single one of us refused to visit the establishments of those who sued and didn’t pay, those who recouped yet failed to reimburse.  Then would they understand the cost of their greed?

I’d rather stay home and eat bologna than put another one of my dollars in the pockets of these people.  If you think I’m kidding, know this:  it’s been more than sixteen years since I’ve shopped in a WalMart, and for much the very same reason.  I refuse to give Greed another of my dollars.

Time will go on, and people will forget.  When the barons get their money on all four spendable counts, and the lawyers are chuckling over their fair share, no one will remember the life of a server who depended on her hourly wage plus tips for one horrendous week in January, a week of losses for which she’ll still be suffering in late December.

 

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

7 responses to “Un-Diluted Anger

  1. I am deeply impressed that you haven’t shopped at Walmart in sixteen years. Oh how I try not to, but I end up there four-five times a year.
    Another good post.

  2. I’m committed. lol And thanks. 🙂

  3. Jenny Gust

    I love your husband’s suggestion to give the server $20 and tell the manager why you won’t be back. If only a large group of people would do this, it might have some impact.
    PS I am enjoying reading your blog. Thanks for including me!

    • Thanks! We are serious about taking the stand and aren’t shy about doing it publicly. Shoulda seen the fit I threw outside a Long John Silver’s not too long ago. Maybe I’ll write about that one soon. 😃

  4. Marie

    I guess it’s a good thing Freedom Industries already filed bankruptcy. Smh. Now no one will get anything from them 😦

  5. Kim

    Well said my friend. I respect your decisions. As always, I love your insight and opinions.

Leave a Reply

